CPE’s 2015 Executives of the Year: The Popular Vote

CPE reveals the winners of the 2015 Executive of the Year Awards, according to the popular vote.

EOY2015_450SQThe CPE Executive of the Year awards, now in their 19th year, are traditionally determined by a peer vote among members of the CPE 100 board of senior-level real estate executives from across the industry. But we also opened up the ballot to the industry at large, and received an enthusiastic response (with more than 700 voters weighing in).

Here’s how the public vote ranked the winners. You can compare it to the official lineup by clicking through to the December 2015 issue of Commercial Property Executive.

Executive of the Year
First Place: Thomas Garbutt, Senior Managing Director & Head of Global Real Estate, TIAA-CREF
Honorable Mention: Joseph Stettinius, CEO of the Americas, DTZ, and Bob Faith, Founder, Chairman & CEO, Greystar

Lifetime Achievement
J. Ronald Terwilliger, Chairman, Enterprise Community Partners Inc.; Vice Chairman, Enterprise Community Investment Inc.; and Chairman Emeritus, Trammell Crow Residential

Investor of the Year
First Place: David Gilbert, President & Chief Investment Officer, Clarion Partners
Honorable Mention: Thomas Garbutt, Senior Managing Director & Head of Global Real Estate, TIAA-CREF, and Hamid Moghadam, Chairman & CEO, Prologis Inc.

Developer of the Year
First Place: Jeffrey Hines, President & CEO, Hines
Honorable Mention: Daniel Queenan, CEO, Trammell Crow Co., and Jeff Blau, CEO, Related Cos.

Service Executive of the Year
First Place: Larry Heard, CEO, Transwestern
Honorable Mention: Kevin Maggiacomo, President & CEO, Sperry Van Ness, and Mark Rose, Chairman & CEO, Avison Young

Financier of the Year
First Place: Joe B. Thornton, Executive Managing Director & Managing Member, HFF L.P., & President, HFF Inc.
Honorable Mention: Eduardo Padilla, CEO, NorthMarq Capital, and Willy Walker, Chairman & CEO, Walker & Dunlop

Office Property Executive of the Year
First Place: John Kilroy, Chairman, President & CEO, Kilroy Realty Corp.
Honorable Mention: Jeffrey Hines, President & CEO, Hines, and Stephen Furnary, Chairman & CEO, Clarion Partners

Industrial Property Executive of the Year
First Place: Hamid Moghadam, Chairman & CEO, Prologis Inc.
Honorable Mention: Len O’Donnell, President & CEO, USAA Real Estate Co., and Ross Perot Jr., Chairman, Hillwood

Retail Property Executive of the Year
First Place: David Simon, Chairman & CEO, Simon Property Group Inc.
Honorable Mention: Conor Flynn, President & COO, Kimco Realty Corp., and Arthur Coppola, Chairman & CEO, Macerich

Multifamily Property Executive of the Year
First Place: Sue Ansel, President & CEO, Gables Residential
Honorable Mention: Richard Campo, Chairman & CEO, Camden Property Trust, and Tim Byrne, President & CEO, Lincoln Property Co.

Hotel/Hospitality Property Executive of the Year
First Place: Adam Aron, CEO, Starwood Hotels & Resorts Worldwide Inc.
Honorable Mention: Mark Hoplamazian, President, CEO & Director, Hyatt Corp., and Christopher Nassetta, President & CEO, Hilton Worldwide